Food Storage-Eggs

We love eggs at our house! We even had chickens for a little while (a long and winding story). Eggs are a great source of protein, a great binder and emulsifier in baking and just plain yummy.  We wouldn’t want to be without eggs, especially in our storage.  Here is what I have in my storage and how I use them.

Whole Egg Powder                    Whole Egg Powder

I had these in my storage for a while but didn’t use them much, ok, at all.  They really don’t smell nice and I haven’t and nor do I want to use them as scrambled eggs.  I’m sure if that was the last thing on the shelf it would get used for just eating, BUT what they are great for is baking.  The egg powder can be put in with the dry ingredients and add the extra water for reconstituting with the wet ingredients.  Or, just mix the egg powder as directed on the can and add to recipe.  It is a little runny, though.  I have a friend who uses them religiously in her baking because she became sick from raw egg once.

I have had great success in substituting for eggs in recipes and I have also used them to make “just add water” mixes for pancakes, muffins, etc.

There is also a powdered egg white for a food storage option.  I have not used it so I can’t really comment on it, but if you have please share in the comments how you use it.

OvaEasy Egg Crystals               OvaEasy Egg Crystals

These are put out by Honeyville Grain.  These are eggs that have been spray dried at a lower temperature so they look and behave like raw eggs. The can on the left has an inner mylar bag filled with the egg crystals and the can in the middle contains 6 of the bags on the right.  Each bag is equivalent to a dozen eggs.  The bags are convenient for sharing with starving neighbors or camping trips.  These are great for eating as scrambled eggs.  

I used some to make German Pancakes and also Quiche and no one could tell they were powdered eggs.  I also put them in mylar bag meals (just add water) like Quiche and a Country Skillet breakfast.  These recipes can be found at Chef Tess’s blog, just click here she is the Honeyville Grain corporate chef. There are a lot of great recipe’s for “just add water” meals.  She calls them “meal in a jar” because she puts them in quart jars, I call them mylar bag meals because I put them in, well,  mylar bags. 

Whole Preserved Eggs

I told my visiting teaching companion about this method and she couldn’t control her gag reflex so I don’t think she will be trying this.  It is super complicated, ready? Rub mineral oil on the shell of a whole raw egg. No really, that’s it.  When an egg comes from the chicken it is coated with a “bloom” which seals the egg.  At this point it doesn’t need to be refrigerated and can be stored for up to a year.  When commercial eggs are washed the bloom is gone, the mineral oil reseals the egg.

I put a little mineral oil on a gloved hand and roll the egg around in it, place them back in the carton and down on my shelves.  It is good to rotate the eggs once a month by turning the carton upside down.  I put them in a container like this because if/when we get our giant earthquake I don’t want to clean up raw egg off of my floor.  You can check to see if your egg is still good by placing it in a bowl of water.  If it sinks it is good, if it floats it is bad.

Oiled Eggs

I have used these for frying and boiling.  Older eggs are supposed to be easier to peel when boiled because they develop a little more acid.  I also have used them to make mayo (and we’re still alive).

Egg Substitute for baking

I got this handy tip from a great lady at the Ogden LDS Drypack Cannery.  Before starting recipe for cookies, cake, etc., combine 1 tsp unflavored gelatin with 2 Tbs boiling water, stir to dissolve, then add 3 Tbs cold water .  This mixture will substitute for 1 egg in a recipe.

This entry was posted in Food, Storage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food Storage-Eggs

  1. Pingback: Recipes With Eggs | Gourmet Foodnet

Leave a Reply

