The Gift of Survival

SnowGirlGifts-Vintage-GraphicsFairy                merry xmas

This glorious season of celebrating and gift giving can be a bit of a struggle for me.  Maybe it is because I am very practically minded (to a fault) or because I’ve moved enough times that I see new “stuff” as just something to either get rid of or pack.  Whatever the reason it is a lot of work to find a balance between useful and enjoyable for the receiver.

Enjoyable may be in the eye of the beholder.  For my oldest daughter’s birthday (she is mother to the cutest red-headed grandkids, ever) I gave her something I’d been working on for her birthday/Christmas gift.  It was 2 tubs full of emergency preparedness stuff which included:

  • 1 wonder oven,
  • 1 rocket stove
  • 1 12-oz emptied soda bottle filled with matches and a strike plate
  • 1 case of Spaghetti-o’s
  • 15 or so mylar packets filled with “just add water” macaroni & cheese
  • 10 or so mylar packets filled with “just add water” flavored hot cereal mixes
  • 1 can Morning Moo’s
  • 1 can chocolate Morning Moo’s
  • 1 bottle of rehydration mix

My daughter isn’t very interested in preparedness and has questioned my sanity on an occasion or two as she witnessed my feverish prepping.  I knew she didn’t have much for her and her little family and I felt this would give them quick foods that the little ones would eat and the ability to cook them with little or no fuel.  I could tell by the mist in her eyes that she knew I loved her and her family so much that I wanted them to survive so we could enjoy each other longer here.  In retrospect it could have been because that wouldn’t be her first choice as a gift.

My sister gave her married kids wonder ovens last year for Christmas and other folks I’ve talked to give similar gifts.  Emergency preparedness is a great practical gift and even if the receiver doesn’t love it now, they will love you for it later if they ever need it.

This entry was posted in Alternative Cooking, Plans and Goals, Storage, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

